Select Page

Democratic Republic of Congo Forums Real Life The 57th Anniversary of the Independence Reply To: The 57th Anniversary of the Independence


After a campaign marked by unprecedented uncertainty until the last day, the first round of the election of the Governors and Vice-Governors is now closed. MPs from eight provinces were called to the polls on Saturday, August 26, 2017. For the presidential majority, Pande Kapopo Célestin (Haut-Katanga) and Kalenga Mwenzeni Jackson (Haut-Lomami) qualified in the first round. Three Independent candidates also qualified in the first round. It is the candidate of the province of Kwilu: Balabala Kasongo Michel. For South-Ubangi, Taïla Nage Joachim was elected.
The following are elected Provincial Vice-Governors on behalf of the MP: Kalenga Mambepa Jean in Upper Katanga and Polipoli Lunda chimne in Upper Lomami. In South Ubangi, Bakakoye Dengaboni Leka Jean-Pierre is elected Vice-governor. In Kwilu, Mapanda Bwas Nathanaël is elected Vice-governor and in Bas-Uélé: Anina Makwa Godelive was elected Vice-governor.
Moreover, the list of candidates from the provinces of South Kivu, Tshopo and Tshuapa did not obtain an absolute majority in the first round.
According to the electoral law evoked by the President of the Ceni, Corneille Nangaa, when the results of the elections of Governors and Vice-governors were published, the lists of the candidates who arrived in the first round are retained for the second round. The Ceni, for Tuesday, August 29, 2017, convened the second round of the election of Governors and Vice-Governors. These are the following provinces: South Kivu, Tshopo and Tshuapa.
La Ceni reminded candidates, political parties and
Political Parties having participated in the election of Governors and Vice-Governor in the eight provinces that the appeals in protest of the provisional results are to be filed by the independent candidate or his agent, the Party or political grouping or their agent to the courses of Appel Acting as the Administrative Courts of Appeal from August 28, 2017 to September 4, 2017.
The Courts of Appeal will deal with disputes between September 5 and September 11, 2017, while the final results will be published by the Courts d’Appels on September 12, 2017.
The President of CENI expressed his satisfaction with the smooth operation of voting operations in the eight provinces: Bas-Uélé, Haut-Katanga, Haut-Lomami, Kwilu, South Kivu, South Ubangi, Tshopo and Tshuapa .

Font Resize